Cocktail: Word in Edgewise

Babydoll, listen.

I like to taste the liquor in my cocktails. Sometimes I even like to drink my liquor straight. Weird? Probably not. But not many people are interested in that, which is how the kind of drinks I enjoy have been known by many of my friends as Old Man Drinks (which is also the name of a book, but let’s tackle that another day).

I don’t necessarily want the feeling of rubbing alcohol in my mouth, but I do want to enjoy the quality booze I spent my money on. I want to roll the flavors around in my mouth and feel the alcohol evaporate on my tongue and lips. I like drinks that can manage to shove me against the wall and kiss me at the same time.  Figuratively speaking, of course.

bulleit over capitol hill
[“Bulleit Over Capitol Hill” by Eric Jusino on Flickr]

Ahem. Wait. What?

Anyway. The drink I’m featuring today isn’t blow-your-mind strong. You will, however, taste the liquor. If you’re anything like me you might even like it.

Word in Edgewise (recipe below) is like a simplified, stripped-down play on the The Final Word, a variation of the epic prohibition-era cocktail The Last Word.  I’ve searched the internet for evidence of this cocktail existing somewhere but came up empty. If The Last Word is Seattle’s biggest contribution to mixology, perhaps Word in Edgewise could be Bellingham’s? Meh, maybe not…

Word in Edgewise 3
[“Word in Edgewise 3” by me, aintnothin_dumpling, on Flickr]

Word in Edgewise
1 oz Bulleit Bourbon
1 oz Maraschino Liqueur
Juice of 1/4 lemon

Stir. Pour over rocks. Top with fizzy water. Savor.

Let me know how you like it!

Cheers,

♥ Sara

Leave a comment

Filed under Sara

Leave a Reply

