Top 3 Games You Should be Playing as a Big Ol’ Lesbian

I can’t tell you how many times I’ve scoured the internet looking for gay games. They are few and far between. It sucks. Most search results will leave you with nothing substantial. So, I figured it was my place to share the top 3 games you should be playing if you’re a big ol’ lez.

Dragon Age 1 & 2

If you just started reading this blog, you probably need to go back and read about my unhealthy addiction to Dragon Age 1 and 2. As a brief rundown…

“Set in the fictional kingdom of Ferelden during a period of civil strife, the player assumes the role of a warrior, mage or rogue who must unite the kingdom to fight an impending invasion by demonic forces.” – Wikipedia ‘Dragon Age

This is on top of my list because it is hands down one of the best RPGs I have ever played. What really takes the cake though is the option to romance a lady. While the story is great, the prospect of making the delightful rogue, Leliana fall in love with me was simply irresistible. Same goes for Dragon Age 2. I just couldn’t help but make Isabella fall in love with me over and over and over again. (It’s an illness.) But really, it’s the cut scenes that push your romance along that are totally worth it. You NEED this game.

The Sims 1, 2, and 3 (But mostly the dating expansion packs)

“The games in The Sims series lack any defined goals (except for some later expansion packs which introduced this gameplay style). The player creates virtual people called “Sims” and places them in houses and helps direct their moods and satisfy their desires. Players can either place their Sims in pre-constructed homes or build them themselves.” – Wikipedia ‘The Sims

Oh, Sims. This is the first game I remember playing where you could make two ladies fall in love and *gasp* kiss each other. Hell, you can even make them have sex with each other. What I love most about the Sims is that you have the opportunity to see yourself in game. You can take part in all the important stages of life as you. No pretending here, folks. The only difference is that gay couples are unable to produce a baby the “natural way” and can only adopt. (The Sims needs to get that In Vitro option, STAT.) Side note: What I hate most about the Sims is that it sucks my soul away and leaves me in a sad pile of broken Doritos and empty Fast Break candy wrappers.

Fable 1, 2, and 3

So I guess this post should be more aptly titled “What game series you should be playing as a big ol’ lez”. The storyline for Fable is different for all three games, but the basic principle is the same.

“Fable takes place in the fictional continent of Albion. The choices players make in the game affect the perception and reaction to their Hero by the characters of Albion, and change the Hero’s appearance to mirror what good or evil deeds the Hero has performed. In addition to undertaking quests to learn what happened to the Hero’s family, players can engage in optional quests and pursuits such as trading, romance, boxing, pub gaming, betting and theft.” – Wikipedia ‘Fable

Oh Fable, you’re neat. The most awesome thing about this game is the opportunity to affect your game environment by your actions. But additionally, whether you choose to be good or bad, villagers will fall in love with you. In my most recent play through of Fable 3, I could see which characters were gay and which were not. So, it’s totally true to life when you romance a villager for hours only to find out they’re totally straight. But when you do find a lady to fall in love with you, you can buy a house and (potentially?) have children. Also, you can be a total dog and marry a ton of women, bring back prostitutes, and break your wife’s heart. Sadness. But, it’s all about equality, baby.

I really should include the Mass Effect series (another Bioware creation) on this list but I don’t feel right since I haven’t actually played it. I know, I know. I’m terrible. I NEED to play that…and soon. But overall, I’m excited that lesbians are starting to be featured in games (in less sexualized roles). If you make games with legit lesbian relationship options, I will buy it. I’m serious. MAKE ME LESBIAN GAMES.

Obviously this is a very small sample and I haven’t listed every game that’s featured a lesbian character. This is where you, the reader, come in. I encourage you to post game titles in the comments that were not included in my list – I’m always looking for new recommendations! Also, I know that there are plenty of other people out there who are looking for the same kind of thing. Please share!

(And to all my friends out there who are into gay relationships on video games – I will happily do a feature for you as well! You should send me your game recommendations or things you think should make it on the list.)

Leave a comment

Filed under Hieratic

Leave a Reply

